Happy Valentines Day

February 14, 2007 snickerdoodle7

Ok so Valentine’s Day is wayyyy overrated. I seriously considered whipping out some drab recibe with dark colors and possibly adding a little leftover Halloween decorations just to show how much I hate this holiday. Then I got some Valentines Day presents and my mood turned around. (so what if they were from my mother and not Prince Charming, we don’t have to dwell on that. a present is a present.) So what did I get? Roses. Typical I know but there was also a card. In the card my mother promised to get me something that I’ve wanted for quite a while now: a bunny rabbit!! They’re so cute and fluffy.

 Anyway, all of this happiness that revolved around the bunny got me into the Valentine’s mood a little bit and I decided to make some cupcakes. This week I’ve got a catering job on an island that’s aobut 15 minutes away from home by boat. Because of the island theme I’ve got going on I decided to do something tropical. Tropical mixed with pink especially for this little Hallmark holdiay we’ve got going on today.

Here they are:

I haven’t tried one yet but they smell pretty darn good. I’m not even close to pleased with my terrible frosting job though. I need to take a cake decorating class. Just something I’ll have to look into for the future.

Anyway, here’s the recipe:

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 large egg + 1 additional egg yolk

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup canola or vegetable oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup sour cream

3/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 cup mashed banana (about one large banana)

1/2 cup canned crushed pineapple, drained

1/2 cup pecans, finely chopped

Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl and set aside. In a large bowl beat the whole egg, additional egg yolk, and sugar for about 2 minutes on medium speed with an electric mixer. On low speed, mix in the flower mixture until well blended. Add the cinnamon, mashed banana, pineapple, and pecans and blend them together on low speed until fully combined. Line a 12 cupcake or muffin tin with cupcake liners and fill each with about a 1/3 cup of batter (the recipe said I would get 12, but I came out with 13).  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes. Let cool and frost with the following recipe.

Cream Cheese Frosting:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

6 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 cups powdered sugar

Food coloring of choice

Beat together the butter, cream cheese, and vanilla until smooth, about one minute. Add powdered sugar and peat about one minute to combine. Add the food coloring and beat another minute to lighten the frosting so that it is fluffy. Frost the cupcakes with a pastry bag or spatula.

Makes 12-13 cupcakes.

Entry Filed under: cupcakes

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. JDay  |  February 1, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Hey, if you are into contests there is a great contest on YouTube for Valentines Day. The contest is to create a video for the holiday. Actually its two contests, one is to make a video talking about your great love and the second is to actually do an online video proposal called “Will You Marry Me?” Here’s the URL http://www.youtube.com/greatestlovestories?cm_cid=twb8. Right now there are very few entries so you might have a good shot at winning.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

February 2007
S M T W T F S
     
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Categories

Recent Posts

 
